The annual Truckstops Awards evening was held on Wednesday the 7th of August at the TSB Showplace, New Plymouth to recognise the high achievers for Financial Year 18/19. The awards night was held as part of the 2019 Truckstops Leadership Forum.

Chris Groves and the team from Wellington were the big winners on the night taking 3rd place for Parts Department of the Year, 2nd place for Service Department of the Year and 1st place for the supreme Branch of the Year Award. Pat Rumble and his team from Truckstops, Napier took 2nd place and Murray Wilkinson and the team from Truckstops, Mt Wellington took out 3rd place for Branch of the Year.

Chris Groves went on to win Manager of the Year.  Impressively, he was nominated by the entire Wellington branch staff, who included a heartfelt letter and a video starring a cross-section of the team.

Chris also took out the prestigious Truckstops Contribution Award which recognised Chris’s outstanding leadership driving his branch to much greater levels of achievement, as well as through a very difficult, tragic time - the passing of a valued technician and team member Rainey Christofferson. There was a lot of emotion in the room as Chris came up to accept the award and reflected on the year and what the loss meant to him and his team.

Jason Maxted and the team from Truckstops, Nelson took out the Service Department of the Year for the second year in a row with Wellington coming in 2nd and Patrick Edwards and his team from Invercargill coming in 3rd.

Jim Hunter and his dedicated Hamilton parts team picked up Parts Department of the Year with Napier & Mt Wellington taking joint 2nd and Wellington 3rd place.

Clive Jones (GM, MTD) introduced two new awards to recognise Truckstops branches who exhibited supreme customer service excellence provided to Volvo and Mack customers. Nominations for the award were submitted by the MTD team. The inaugural Volvo ‘Dianne Whyman Customer Service Excellence Award’ went to Pat Rumble and the team at Truckstops, Napier. The inaugural Mack ‘Murray Sowerby Excellence Award’ went to Jason Dwayne and the team at Truckstops, Hamilton.

Another first for the event saw proceedings live streamed across the entire Truckstops network, allowing those not able to attend the event to be part of it, and winners at a distance to have the opportunity to say a few words.

The following were also recognised for their outstanding achievements:

Apprentice of the Year: Nicholas Rennie-Hynes, Truckstops Christchurch Volvo.

Innovator of the Year: Steve Hawkins, Truckstops Whangarei.

Health & Safety Champion: Michell Holm, Truckstops Palmerston North.